Tracy McGrady, Bill Self, Rebecca Lobo headline 2017 Basketball Hall of Fame class

Glendale, AZ (PPN) – This years Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class includes two-time NBA scoring champion Tracy McGrady, Kansas coach Bill Self, former Chicago Bulls executive Jerry Krause and former UConn star Rebecca Lobo. The announcement was made Saturday,

McGrady was drafted straight out of high school, and retired as a seven-time All-Star during his 15 years in the league. He led the league in scoring in Orlando in both the 2002-03 and 2003-04 seasons. The 37 year old is the youngest in this year’s class.

“I did get emotional. I did start crying, I’ll tell you that,” McGrady said. “I was trying to call my wife once I got off the phone, but my eyes were so watery, and I was so nervous, I was opening up every app on my phone but the right one to make a call.”

Self is one of six coaches who have led three different schools to the NCAA tournament’s Elite Eight. In 2008, he led the Jayhawks to a national championship.

“The thing that I think hit me the soonest was the journey,” Self said of receiving the Hall of Fame call. “And certainly how many people have played a significant role in helping me and putting me in a position. And the more I thought about that, the list just grows and grows and grows. And certainly very humbled by it.”

Lobo starred for the Huskies national championship team in 1995  following an undefeated season. He was also an Olympic gold medalist for Team USA in 1996.

“This just would have been something she dreamed of a lot more than I ever did,” said Lobo. “But I know she’s happy, and I knew she was happy then, and just a very gratifying feeling.”

Krause was the general manager during the Bulls’ dynasty in the 1990s and  recently passed away.  He was a two-time NBA executive of the year and is credited for surrounding the GOAT Michael Jordan with the pieces that helped create two championship three-peats.

Others in the class include Notre Dame coach Muffet McGraw, Texas high school coach Robert Hughes, former NCAA executive Tom Jernstedt, Harlem Globetrotters player, owner and CEO Mannie Jackson, former Globetrotters player Zack Clayton, former European star Nikos Galis and former NBA and ABA star George McGinnis.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post